Economic Prosperity CommissionMay 15, 2024

Agenda — original pdf

Thumbnail of the first page of the PDF
Page 1 of 2 pages

Regular Called Meeting of the Economic Prosperity Commission Wednesday, May 15, 2024, 6:30pm City Hall, Boards & Commissions Room 1101 301 W. 2nd Street Austin, Texas Some members of the Economic Prosperity Commission may be participating by videoconference. Audio is recorded. Public comment will be allowed in-person or remotely via telephone. Speakers may only register to speak on an item once either in-person or remotely and will be allowed up to three minutes to provide their comments. Registration no later than noon the day before the meeting is required for remote participation by telephone. To register to speak remotely, call or email Cesar Garza and Stephanie Calderon at the Economic Development Department: and or 512-974-8055 (Cesar Garza). CURRENT BOARD MEMBERS/COMMISSIONERS: • Laura Dixon, Mayor (Watson) • Christiana Ponder, District 1 (Harper- Madison) (Velasquez) (Vela) • Benjamin Salazar, District 2 (Fuentes) • Raquel Valdez Sanchez, District 3 • Michael Nahas, Chair, District 4 • Rodrigo Cantu, District 5 (R. Alter) AGENDA • Vacant, District 6 (Kelly) • Amy Noel, District 7 (Pool) • Luis Osta Lugo, Vice Chair, District 8 • Aaron Gonzales, District 9 (Qadri) • Kelsey Hitchingham, District 10 (A. (Ellis) Alter) CALL TO ORDER PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL The first 10 speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda. APPROVAL OF MINUTES 1. Approve the minutes of the Economic Prosperity Commission Regular Meeting on April 17, 2024. DISCUSSION ITEMS 2. 3. 4. 6. Presentation by Global Business Expansion Division staff, City of Austin Economic Development Department, regarding the guidelines for the City’s Business Expansion Program authorized under Chapter 380 of the Texas Local Government Code. Discuss commission’s plan for the next year, 2024-2025, in alignment with the new Chair’s term of office, including: expectations of work by Chair, Vice Chair, and Commissioners; goals and priorities for the commission; and how to fill vacancies and what attributes to seek in new Commissioners. Discuss monthly meeting logistics: communicating via Microsoft Outlook on the City of Austin network and how commissioners may invite speakers to future meetings. DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS 5. Discuss and vote on a June 2024 makeup meeting: either a special called business meeting, or a community interest meeting in a public setting where a quorum may be present but no business will take place. The commission’s usual regular meeting falls on the City's Juneteenth Holiday, June 19, 2024. Discuss and vote on the number of working groups and the focus of each group for 2024- 2025. Per Article 8 in the by-laws: the number of board members in a working group must be less than a quorum of the board, or less than 6 members. The most recent working groups and members were: Jobs (Nahas, Salazar, Valdez Sanchez); Procurement (Hitchingham, Noel, Ponder); Infrastructure (Nahas, Hitchingham, Osta Lugo). FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS ADJOURNMENT The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call Cesar Garza at the Economic Development Department, at 512-974-8055, for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711. For more information on the Economic Prosperity Commission, please contact Cesar Garza and Stephanie Calderon at the Economic Development Department, at and or 512-974-8055 (Cesar Garza).