Environmental CommissionJune 15, 2022

Agenda — original pdf

Thumbnail of the first page of the PDF
Page 1 of 2 pages

Regular Meeting of the Environmental Commission June 15, 2022 at 6:00 P.M. Permitting and Development Center, Events Center, Room 1406 6310 Wilhelmina Delco Drive, Austin, Texas 78752 Some members of the Environmental Commission will be participating by videoconference. The meeting may be viewed online at: http://www.austintexas.gov/page/watch-atxn-live Public comment will be allowed in-person or remotely by telephone. Speakers may only register to speak on an item once either in-person or remotely and will be allowed up to three minutes to provide their comments. Registration no later than noon the day before the meeting is required for remote participation. To register to speak remotely, call or email the Jackie Ramos, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 964-9366, Jacqueline.Ramos@austintexas.gov, no later than noon, (the day before the meeting). The following information is required: speaker name, item number(s) they wish to speak on, whether they are for/against/neutral, email address and telephone number (must be the same number that will be used to call into the meeting). COMMISSIONERS: Haris Qureshi (D-1) Rachel Scott (D-2) Pam Thompson (D-3) Melinda Schiera (D-4) Kevin Ramberg (D-8) Chair Audrey Barrett Bixler (D-5) Ana Aguirre (D-9) Colin Nickells (D-6) Richard Brimer (D-10) Jennifer Bristol (D-7) Secretary Perry Bedford (Mayor) Vice-Chair _________________________________________________________________________________ Agenda CALL TO ORDER PUBLIC COMMUNICATION: GENERAL The first 10 speakers who register to speak no later than noon the day before the meeting will be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda. 1 1. 2. 3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES AND ACTION a. Approval of the June 1, 2022 Environmental Commission Regular Meeting Minutes (5 minutes) STAFF BRIEFINGS a. Update on Austin’s reservoirs monitoring and management efforts—Brent Bellinger, Environmental Scientist, Watershed Protection Department (30 minutes) b. Update on resolution relating to environmental protections and water quality; and initiating amendments to the City Code—Liz Johnston, Deputy Environmental Officer, Watershed Protection Department (30 minutes) COMMITTEE REPORTS a. Urban Forestry Committee – Richard Brimer (Committee Chair), Pam Thompson, b. Report on the Joint Sustainability Committee – Haris Qureshi (member) and Richard Rachel Scott, and Colin Nickells Brimer (alternate member) Committee – Jennifer Bristol c. Report on the Balcones Canyonlands Conservation Plan Citizen’s Advisory d. Report on the Joint Committee of the Environmental Commission and Parks and Recreation Board –Pam Thompson, Rachel Scott, Perry Bedford, and Haris Qureshi e. Report on the South Central Waterfront Advisory Board – Ana Aguirre FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS 5. ADJOURNMENT The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. Please call Jackie Ramos at Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 964-9366, Jacqueline.Ramos@austintexas.gov for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711. For more information on the Environmental Commission, please contact Jackie Ramos, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 964-9366, Jacqueline.Ramos@austintexas.gov. * A member of the public may not address a board or commission at a meeting on an item posted as a briefing, per City Code Section 2-1-144(E). 2