Environmental CommissionAug. 5, 2020

Agenda — original pdf

Thumbnail of the first page of the PDF
Page 1 of 3 pages

Regular Meeting of the Environmental Commission August 5, 2020 at 3:00 P.M. Environmental Commission to be held August 5, 2020 with Social Distancing Modifications Public comment will be allowed via telephone; no in-person input will be allowed. All speakers must register in advance (day before the scheduled meeting, August 4, 2020 by noon). All public comment will occur at the beginning of the meeting. To speak remotely at the August 5, 2020 Environmental Commission Meeting, residents must: •Call or email the commission liaison at: Kaela Champlin (512) 974-3443 or Kaela.Champlin@austintexas.gov, no later than noon, (the day before the meeting). The information required is the speaker name, item number(s) they wish to speak on, whether they are for/against/neutral, and a telephone number or email address. •Once a request to speak has been called in or emailed to the board liaison, residents will receive either an email or phone call providing the telephone number to call on the day of the scheduled meeting. •Speakers must call in at least 15 minutes prior to meeting start in order to speak, late callers will not be accepted and will not be able to speak. •Speakers will be placed in a queue until their time to speak. •Handouts or other information may be emailed to Kaela.Champlin@austintexas.gov by noon the day before the scheduled meeting. This information will be provided to Board and Commission members in advance of the meeting. •Residents may watch the meeting here: http://www.austintexas.gov/page/watch-atxn-live 1 2. 3. Regular Meeting of the Environmental Commission August 5, 2020 3:00 P.M. To 4:30 P.M. VIA VIDEOCONFERENCING http://www.austintexas.gov/page/watch-atxn-live COMMISSIONERS: Andrew Creel (D-1) Curtis Smith (D-2) Pam Thompson (D-3) Ryan Nill (D-4) Mary Ann Neely (D-5) Katie Coyne (D-6) Peggy Maceo (D-7) Linda Guerrero (D-9) Chair _________________________________________________________________________________ (Mayor) Vice Chair Wendy Gordon (D-10) Perry Bedford Kevin Ramberg (D-8) Secretary Agenda CALL TO ORDER 1. (5 minutes) APPROVAL OF MINUTES AND ACTION a. Approval of the July 15, 2020 Environmental Commission Meeting Minutes STAFF BRIEFINGS a. Update on Green Infrastructure web portal—Erin Wood, Planner Principal, Watershed Protection Department (5 minutes) ITEMS FOR CONSIDERATION AND POSSIBLE ACTION a. Update on the Environmental Commission Annual Internal Review—Linda Guerrero, Environmental Commission Chair (5 minutes) b. Discuss and consider a recommendation to name an unnamed tributary in Battle Bend Neighborhood Park in memory of Watershed Protection Department employee Nick Down—Chris Herrington, Environmental Officer, Watershed Protection Department (10 minutes) c. Discuss and consider a recommendation for the Vision Plan for John Treviño Jr. Metropolitan Park at Morrison Ranch—Charles Mabry, Associate Project Manager, Parks and Recreation Department and David Malda, Principal, GGN (30 minutes) 2 4. COMMITTEE REPORTS a. Urban Growth Policy and Water Quality Protection Committee – Pam Thompson, Kevin Ramberg, Mary Ann Neely, Curtis Smith, and Perry Bedford b. Urban Forestry Committee – Peggy Maceo, Pam Thompson, Linda Guerrero, and Mary Ann Neely – Mary Ann Neely c. Report on the Joint Sustainability Committee – Katie Coyne d. Report on the Balcones Canyonlands Conservation Plan Citizen’s Advisory Committee e. Report on the Joint Committee of the Environmental Commission and Parks and Recreation Board – Mary Ann Neely, Peggy Maceo, Linda Guerrero, and Pam Thompson f. Report on the South Central Waterfront Advisory Board – Linda Guerrero ADJOURNMENT The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. For additional information, please call Kaela Champlin, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 974-3443; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711. For more information on the Environmental Commission, please contact Kaela Champlin, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 974-3443. * A member of the public may not address a board or commission at a meeting on an item posted as a briefing, per City Code Section 2-1-144(E). 3